Ballyhogue best by seven –

BALLYHOGUE OVERCOME the tough and fiery Blackwater conditions to forge a deserved seven-point win in this Group B match of the TSB Permanent Junior Hurling Championship at Bree on Sunday.

Both teams had already qualified and the winners will now face Oylegate-Glenbrien in Bree on Saturday, after Blackwater return to Bree to face Clongeen on Friday.

Despite playing against the elements in the first half, Ballyhogue still led 0-3 to 0-1 after twelve minutes. Their points came courtesy of Ronan Minogue (two free kicks) and Cian Wickham, after a fine strike from Denis Carroll opened the scoring for the visitors.

As free takers Minogue and Wickham continued to score, the hosts led 0-6 to 0-1 at the end of the first quarter.

Blackwater then netted a Denis O’Brien goal from close range to cut the deficit to two points.

Seasides entered more into the match, with substitutes James Dooley, Wayne O’Connor and O’Brien trading points with Minogue and Wickham.

A wonderful goal from Peter Kelly near the break gave the home side a 1-9 to 1-6 lead.

While Blackwater gave their all on the restart, they were unable to break down a stubborn Ballyhogue defense despite the best efforts of Wayne O’Connor and Denis O’Brien.

Ballyhogue extended their lead with first three runs through Shane Byrne, Cian Wickham and Ronan Minogue (free). And that put them off for the rest of the game, as the visitors could only muster two Denis O’Brien points before the finish.

Ballyhog: Niall Maher; Eddie Galavan, Sean Rochford, Colm Parnell; Eamonn Doyle, James Parle, Sean Ring; Shane Doyle (0-1), Conor Byrne; Enda Minogue, Shane Byrne (0-2), Cian Wickham (0-5); Liam Rossiter, Peter Kelly (1-0), Ronan Minogue (0-7, 6 free). Subs. – Graham Parker for S. Byrne, Shane Roche for Rossiter, Noel Roche for Wickham.

Black water: Lar Lacey; Ian Curran, Bryan Mooney, Jason Wallace; Kevin Purcell, Brian Dooley (0-1), Kevin O’Brien; Wayne O’Connor (0-1 free), Alan Malanowski; Josh Culleton, Joe Neville, Denis Carroll (0-1); Tomás O’Brien, Denis O’Brien (1-3, 0-3 free), Brendan Quirke. Subs. – James Dooley (0-2) for T. O’Brien, Jay Mooney for Quirke, James Cullen for B. Mooney, Michael Byrne for Dooley.

Arbitrator: David O’Leary (Rathnure).

Comments are closed.